September Challenge – WHOLE 30


Image

This post is about a challenge featuring the book, It Starts With Food by the amazing couple, Dallas and Melissa Hartwig.  I read this book in June and decided to start the challenge immediately in July.  What’s the challenge you ask? The Whole30.  Eat WHOLE FOODS for 30 days.  That’s it! They’ve had amazing testimonials from thousands of people who have tried the WHOLE30.  

“Beacause of my Crohn’s disease, I was in so much pain that I couldn’t stand up straight.  Every time I ate something it hurt.  In 1999, I had surgery to remove two and a half feet of intestine, including part of my colon.  The surgery relieved the severe pain, but i still dealt with intestinal spasms and gut pain after eating.  I completed my first WHOLE30 in March 2010.  through the process, the intestinal pain, gas, and bloating completely went away — and did not return.  The constant underlying fear of Crohn’s returning is gone because not I understand its root cause.” 

—- Sarah G., Fort Collins, Colorado 
(It Starts With Food, pg. 63) 

“I have always been an active, healthy girl, but in my thirties (after a bout with severe exhaustion followed by two pregnancies) I found myself a good hundred pounds over the limit.  Something had to be done, as ‘just eating well’ was not doing my body any good.  I was inspired by a close friend who had had great success doing a WHOLE30 , and started my journey in February 2011.  The first month, I lost ten pounds.  And within the next two weeks, five more.  In the last year, I have lost seventy pounds and over forty inches from my body.  I am still a work in progress, but with the WHOLE30 on my side, I am making it closer to my goal every day! Thank you for changing my life.” 

— Heidi M., Bozeman, Montana 
(It Starts With Food, pg. 163)

WHOLE30 is NOT  a diet.  You will not have any cheat days/meals.  It’s not a fat loss miracle, although you will lose weight.  This challenge will get rid of your sugar, carb, salt, fried foods, chips cravings.  By the end of your challenge, you won’t feel controlled by food, you will be in control.  

So… WHAT IS IT?? 

NO Wheat
NO Dairy
NO Legumes
NO Seed Oils (Vegetable, Canola,  Corn, Flax, Hemp, Grapeseed, etc)
No Grains
NO Sugar 
NO Alcohol
NO Processed Meats (ONLY, Organic–> Free range, No Antibiotics, Wild caught, Grassfed, etc)  

I know, you’re probably thinking, what the heck do I eat?  http://whole9life.com/book/ISWF-Shopping-List.pdf

Click the link above!  It shows you a whole shopping list!  One thing to remember, KEEP A BALANCED DIET.  Choose a little bit from each category and don’t gorge on Fats alone, or Protein alone.  You need nutrients from every category.  

RESULTS:  What do you get out of this challenge?  NO MORE SLEEPY MORNINGS!  You’ll wake up excited and with tons of energy!  No more sleepless nights!  Get more of that deep rem dream state while you sleep.  Feel good, feel happy, feel like you’re on top of the world!   

This challenge is very similar to the PALEO lifestyle, however, WHOLE30 doesn’t allow PALEO bread, pancakes, waffles, etc.  We want you to get OUT of the habit of eating bread so you won’t be dependent on it.  Trust me,  at the end of the month you will be able to walk in and out of a bakery without purchasing a single pastry.  AND YOU’LL FEEL GOOD ABOUT IT! 

 

I would HIGHLY suggest that you read the book for all the details.  If you have a lot of WHY questions, read the book.  They will explain everything to you.  The more it makes sense, the more you will be able to understand what is healthy and what is not.  Knowing your own body is KEY!  I will definitely be posting some WHOLE30 food ideas.  So get your grocery list read for September!  It only takes 30 days to change your WHOLE life.  Let’s start your journey, by new years, you’ll be a whole new person! 

 

 

Categories: LifestyleTags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

