Who Doesn’t Like Blueberry Pancakes?


20130908-110023.jpg

 

I’ve been so busy with my new job at Equinox, it’s crazy!   I love it!   I get the chance to motivate people every single day!   I love seeing my members busting their butts at the gym and I love signing up new members knowing that their lives about to change. 😀   This is what goes on in my mind, *HEHE, you’re going to look so hot and you don’t even realize it, but i know… I know…*   It’s so rewarding to be apart of someones journey.   I also have weekends off now!  WOW… what do people do on the weekends besides grocery shopping and meal prepping?  This is all so new to me!

… back to the BLUEBERRY PANCAKE!!   Some mornings, I wake up asking, “where’s my pancake?”   In full zombie mode I would get out of bed, splash some water on my face and walk downstairs, tripping once or twice.  Then I would pull out all my flours and stare… just STARE for a minute. (Yes, my brain doesn’t function properly in the mornings, not until I have my pancakes!)  “Hrm… do I want to use almond flour? No, too much fat.  How bout coconut flour?  Nah, don’t like the texture.”  So why not use both!  If you don’t know me, I’m the person that goes to souplantation and mixes the soups together to make my OWN soup.  I’m also the person that goes to Lemonade *restaurant* and tells the cashier to mix the lemonades together.  “Guava limeade and blood orange with a SPLASH, just a SPLASH of cucumber mint.”  *HEHE, this is going to be the best drink EVVERRR*

 

Coconut flour needs more wet ingredient ratio and it’ll have a fluffy cakey texture, sometimes it can be too dry in a pancake.  Almond flour is more moist, but I know I’ll be topping my pancakes with almond butter.  That’s way too much fat content for me.  Careful when you flip these.  These pancakes are more delicate than oat flour and regular pancakes.  The turnout should be moist and DELICIOUS!!! Heres the recipe.

Serving size – For one hungry female (about 3-4 small pancakes)

:: Wet Ingredients ::
1 Banana
2 Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla extract

:: Dry Ingredients ::
3 Tbs Almond flour
1 Tbs Coconut flour
1 1/2 tsp  Stevia ( you can use other sweeteners, but remember Stevia is sweeter than regular sugar )
1 tsp Cinnamon

:: Topping ::

1/2 – 1 C of Frozen blueberries ( fresh blueberries welcome)
1/2 tsp Stevia (or less)
Almond Butter

 

Blend the banana, eggs and vanilla extract

Mix just the almond flour, coconut flour, stevia, and cinnamon  together, then pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and whisk.  Mixture should be thick but able to to pour.

Spray the pan with oil, I use coconut oil from Traders Joes.  Remember these pancakes are DELICATE so make the pancakes small.  Use medium – low heat.  Once the edges are cooked, flip the pancake.

Topping

After you’re done making the pancakes,  spray more coconut oil in the same pan.  Throw in the blueberries and sprinkle Stevia.  Then pour blueberries over pancakes.  Optional* use a dollop of almond butter.

 

Enjoy!

 

 

 

Categories: Recipes

Leave a Reply

