Garlic Broccolini


broccolini

I’m loving Costco’s organic selections!  Kudos to whoever’s making the changes up there in corporate!  *I give you high five!*  As I was shopping at Costco the other day, I routinely picked up my usual Organic Spinach and Organic mixed salad greens in the refrigerated produce room.  These items are conveniently bagged up in plastic boxes and PRE WASHED! What….?  For someone who’s always complaining about not having enough time, those words are like GOLD to me.  As I was running out (it’s really cold in there!)  something stopped me in my tracks.  No, it wasn’t the organic blueberries… ;D I saw a bag of organic Broccolini!  Or as they called it, “broccollettes”.

Visually, broccolini looks quite similar to the average broccoli, except with smaller florets and a longer stem.  Broccolinis are slightly sweeter and the stalks are deliciously tender.   You can cook it the same way you cook Broccoli.  Sautee, steam, boil, roast, or even microwave!

This little baby’s from a cross between 2 huge superfoods : Broccoli and Gai Lan (Chinese Broccoli).   High in Vitamin C and Vitamin A ,  phytonutrients (these are nutrients that will help prevent diseases; Keeping your body functioning properly), Vitamin K, Calcium, Magnesium, Iron, Zinc, Selenium, and Phosphorus.  In other words… It’s really good for you, so eat it.

Here’s a couple of renditions from “My kitchen to yours” in Paula Deen’s voice.

Broccolini and Sunny Side up Eggs with Balsamic Reduction

First, I started with my reduction.  Although it sounds fancy, balsamic reduction is very simple to make.
– Simply pour a cup of Balsamic Vinegar in a sauce pan, bring it up to a boil, and once it’s boiled, bring it back down to a simmer.  Make sure to stir occasionally.  The finished product should be thickened and sweet, but it’s going to take a bit of patience.

Next, I sauteed the brocoolini with garlic.  I’ve already prewashed and prepped my broccolini by cutting them into smaller pieces. I know… Wolfgang Puck likes to keep them whole, but it won’t fit my mouth!

– I oiled my pan with Organic Coconut Oil  and threw in my broccolini. (keep it at medium heat)
– Then I sprinkled a bit of  Pink Himalayan salt and pepper, added about a tablespoon of water and covered the pan with a lid. Remember to stir.
– After 2 minutes, or when the broccolini turned a brighter green, I added chopped garlic, stirred again, and put the lid back on.   The reason why I didn’t add the garlic in the beginning is because garlic burns easily.  Burned garlic tastes like a bitter disaster, so NO!  Before you put the lid back on, take a look and see if you need to add more oil or water to prevent the broccolini’s and garlic from burning.

– At this time, I started on my eggs.  I added the eggs because I was craving it, but it’s totally up to you!  You can add whatever you want to your own dish!  That’s the beauty of cooking!
Don’t forget about the reduction and broccolini!  Keep and eye out and stir occasionally.
– I sprayed another pan with coconut oil, cracked 2 eggs and let it cook.

By this time, your reduction should be a nice thick consistency.  If it leaves a mark on your stirring spoon, it’s done.
– Take the heat off  and check your broccolini.
– Taste it!  If the stalks are tender, it’s done!

Assemble your masterpiece and drizzle the balsamic reduction over the broccolini!

Notice I wrote everything in first person.  This is not a recipe that you have to follow step by step.  Feel free to cook in whichever order and add or eliminate any ingredients.

IMG_2309.JPG

 

Below is a picture of my poorly stuffed chicken breast.  I stuffed the chicken with basil, garlic, and uncured turkey bacon.  Threw them over garlic broccolini, using the same method as above.
IMG_2321.JPG

Categories: RecipesTags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

