Restaurant Rave LA : Next Door Lounge


IMG_2369-0.JPG

Eating out for a health freak can be pretty damn hard… If you’re anything like my friends, you like the greasiest, saltiest, MSG sodden foods.  Ah!!  I can’t.   It’s not that I don’t want to… (eh, kind of), but more so because my body can’t handle heavy food anymore.  I’m sure everyone feels SOMETHING after a big dinner at Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles, but  for me?  It feels more like  DEATH.  No exaggeration….Now I’m on a quest in search for tolerable foods I can eat in LA area.  I’ll be posting reviews and info here!

Last week, my friend and I had time to kill before the amazing Jason Mraz concert in Hollywood. (He’s truly amazing!).  Initially we were looking for a wine bar for lounging purposes.  We went on Yelp! ( of course..) and  found the Next Door Lounge with 4/5 stars and 600+ reviews.  WINNER!

Like anywhere in LA, you have to keep your eyes out and look for discrete  signs of the establishment WHILE driving.  Why don’t we have bigger signs here?  We parked on the meter street and walked over to the door.  First thing, the host pointed at my friend (male)  “Sorry, theres no shorts allowed.”
“Aww, really?” I gave my ‘ I’M SO BUMMED! LOOK’… The host looked at me, ” Alright, just because he’s with you… I’ll let you go this time.”   WOOHOO!  We’re in.

It was 5 Pm on a Friday and the lounge was pretty much empty.  We took a look at the menu and realized it was HAPPY HOUR! The menu was impressive!  $4/ glass wine and a variety of healthy appetizers.  We ordered the kale salad, grass fed beef sliders and hummus trio with pita.  Everything was absolutely delicious!  The kale was perfectly dressed and the beef sliders were perfectly seasoned with a side of  magic ketchup.  I don’t know what they put in their ketchup but it was SO GOOD.  Take a look at the other options!

http://www.nextdoorhollywood.com/menu.html#3

1154 N Highland Ave
Hollywood, CA 90038
323-465-5505

http://www.yelp.com/biz/next-door-lounge-hollywood

I hear they also have a Burlesque show and Live Jazz!  I’ll definitely be paying another visit.

Categories: Restaurant Rave LATags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

