Restaurant Rave LA: Mendocino Farms


It was another scorching hot day in LA!  I’m talking about 2 coats of SPF 50 every 4 hours type of scorch!  Who decides to go shopping at the Grove (outdoor shopping center)?  I DO!  Although I didn’t get any shopping done, I was starving and WAY too disgusted with the heat.  I needed something light and healthy STAT!  Luckily, my friend Christina was on the same page.

Mendocino Farms is located across the street from the Grove’s farmer’s market.  There are tons of selections in the farmer’s market and I usually love munching there, but it was too crowded and hot to deal.  We DID swing by one of my favorite places in the farmer’s market, Zia Valentina and ordered an Ice Blended Coffee.  Amazing!  I apologize, since I was so desperate for a cool down, I didn’t even  take a picture of my coffee!

As we walked over to Mendocino Farms  with our beverage, I was already checking the menu on yelp. Didn’t I say I was starving?  I saw that they had a wide selection of salads and sandwiches. Yes!  Just what I  was looking for!  The menu even offered some vegan and gluten free options!  Their sandwiches varied from Pastrami to Pulled Pork and their famous Korubuta Pork Belly Banh Mi Sandwich.

Christina opted for an even lighter selection, ” A Sandwich Study of Heat” – Fresh local farm turkey, smoked gouda, smashed avocado, chili aioli, jalapeno relish, tomato, romaine lettuce on panini grilled rustic white (side of salsa by request) – See more at: http://www.mendocinofarms.com/menu.html#sthash.kp8DPgqq.dpuf

IMG_2645.JPG

 

And.. Of course I needed my salad.   My eyes landed on the word “Prosciutto” and I was sold. “The Sophisticated Chicken and Prosciutto Salad”-  Creminelli prosciutto and shaved, roasted free range chicken breast, seasonal market roasted vegetables, local Gioia fresh mozzarella, crushed honey roasted almonds, marinated red peppers, red onions, grape tomatoes, Scarborough Farm’s greens, butter lettuce & romaine with basil pesto-balsamic vinaigrette – See more at: http://www.mendocinofarms.com/menu.html#sthash.kp8DPgqq.dpuf

IMG_2606.JPG

 

The portions at Mendocino Farms are generous and the ingredients are fresh!  Everything was perfectly seasoned, not too salty, just the way I like it.

 

Click on the link below to find a Mendocino Farm  near you!  (West Hollywood, Marina Del Rey, Dtla, 3rd and Fairfax, Sherman Oaks, and Costa Mesa!)

http://www.mendocinofarms.com/contact-us.html

Categories: Restaurant Rave LATags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

